Community Counseling Center Foundation 

Community Counseling Center Foundation was formed in 1984, as an independent 501(c)3 not-for-profit entity to cultivate relationships and build awareness within our five-county region in order to generate financial and other resources that support the Center’s capacity to save lives and promote mental wellbeing.

The Center has an exceptional tradition of supporting individuals living with serious mental illnesses such as psychosis, depression, anxiety, and also those with addictions or co-occurring mental health and addiction problems.  Funds provided by the Foundation make it possible to address the mental health issues in our region across all age ranges and all aspects of mental health.  We are committed to reducing the suffering caused by mental illness, and to help everyone lead mentally healthier lives.  Community Counseling Center Foundation is the charity for everyone’s mental wellbeing.

Some major areas of accomplishment supported by the Foundation and generous donors are the purchase of the old Life Care Center on Independence Street in Cape Girardeau for the relocation of Cottonwood Residential Treatment Center and all of the Center’s Children’s services; the purchase and renovation of the El Nathan Center for the Center’s programs and services serving Bollinger County; the construction of the Center at South Silver Springs Road in 1990, and the establishment of the Louis E. Masterman Center Group Home.  Just a few of the other programs and services supported by the Foundation are: patient medications; staff training; vans for client transportation; information management system upgrades; audio-visual equipment for sexual abuse investigations; furnishings for the psychiatric group home; rehabilitation center; play therapy materials; and other quality enhancements to existing programs and services. 

All Foundation proceeds are used for the benefit of tthe Community Counseling Center.

 For more information, to make a gift, or to arrange a visit contact

Mary Burton (573) 332-2795


Board of Directors

Nancy Ann Bray
Jeannie Fadler
John Grimm
Jim Ham
John Harding
Shirlene Hecht
Charles Holt
Gary Howard, Jr. 
Joleta Ludwig
Linda Puchbauer
Don Pugh
Dale Rauh
Suzanne VanderFeen
Charity Worley
 Cheryl Ziegler
John Hudak
Lonnie Lusk
 Sharon Braun
 Mary Burton

Emeritus Directors

Maggie Friend 
Mike Kohlfeld
Dennis Marchi
Birdie Rader
John Zimmer
Carole E Cozean
 Walt Wildman
Ada Cruce, PhD 
Barbara  Barklage
 Doris Skelton, PhD
 Wayne Wallingford, Jr.